top of page
Pearls Politics & Power cover.jpg

Pearls, Politics, and Power is a call to action for new political engagement and leadership from the women of America.  Informed by conversations with elected women leaders from all levels, former three-term Vermont Governor and Ambassador to Switzerland Madeleine M. Kunin asks:  What difference do women make?  What is the worst part of politics, and what is the best?  What inspired these women to run, and how did they prepare themselves for public life?  How did they raise money, protect their families' privacy, deal with criticism and attack ads, and work with the good old boys?

Kunin's core message is that America needs an infusion of new leadership to better address the major problems of our time.  To see how women can achieve that goal, she combines her personal experience in politics; the lessons of past women's movements; the stories of young women today who have new ideas about their role in society; and interviews with a wide range of women in positions of power, looking for clues to their leadership, as well as the effects of gender stereotyping.*

Let's discuss how much things have changed since 2008 when this was written by our first and only female governor.  

And--Think Spring!

*From the book jacket 

Books are available at the circulation desk at the library.   

bottom of page